Fad Diet Conclusion

29 Jun

I have come to the end of my fad diet experience. The last diet that I decided to try was not so much a fad diet but a common suggestion made by fitness enthusiasts and experts. I have decided to incorporate a healthy diet into my lifestyle. This decision came as a result of not being able to handle the constant cycling between fad diets.

The healthy diet will consist of eating lean proteins, good carbs, vegetables, fruit and other healthy snacks. Knowing myself, I plan to occasionally indulge on sweets or baked goods because there is nothing wrong with treating yourself every now and then but I will not make it a normal thing. I realize that this may take some time to lose weight but if I make this a new part of my life, then maintaining it will not be as difficult and frustrating.

In order to help my food choices, I am going to look to the new USDA’s My Plate that helps to choose portion sizes. The USDA’s food pyramid was criticized for some of their suggestions so My Plate was designed to address these issues and make it easier or people to understand. However, My Plate has been subject to some criticisms as well as seen in this article on Patch.com

In the end, I found that fad diets just do not work. They may help you lose pounds for the short term, if you can keep up with their rigorous demands, but fad diets are very hard to maintain. There were elements of each fad diet that I would not mind incorporating into my healthy diet such as some fruit-flavored baby food.

In order to help out others with their struggle to lose weight, I created a website that cuts through all the fad diet lies and gives simple tips on how to maintain a practical, healthy lifestyle.

Thank you for hanging in there with me and I wish you luck on your own diet journey.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

