Fad Workout #3- Insanity

26 Jun

The third Fad Workout that I decided to try was Insanity. Insanity is, for lack of better words, insane. It is a conditioning workout that combines intense cardio, toning exercises, stretching and more. It is not for the faint of heart or the lazy for that matter. It was designed by Shaun T for people who wanted to seriously get in shape. However, it takes dedication, commitment, will power and strength to complete. Needless to say, I was intimidated.

I first heard about Insanity through my sister. She was looking to lose weight and found out about the program through a friend.  He had basically given her the set of DVDs because he could not even complete the fitness test at the beginning. She wanted to try it with me so we set off on our exercise adventure together.
After doing some research, I found that people have gotten real results from such a workout and athletes use it to train. For example, on Bed-Stuy’sPatch.com, a woman said that she is using Insanity to help her build endurance for the NYC Marathon.

The first day of insanity, we marched down the stairs of her townhouse at 6:00 a.m. and stood in her cold basement as she loaded in the first DVD of the fit test. Between yawns, I joked about how I was going to dominate the program and leave her in the dust. Unfortunately, my smack-talk was far from prophetic. As we begun the fit test, I was feeling the burn but I was not exhausted. However, within moments, I had crawled my way over to the cold bathroom tile and was laying there like I was dead trying not to vomit or faint- I could not tell which one. I had made the dreadful mistake of not eating before the intense exercising and had to give up for the day.

The next went a lot smoother. We tried the second DVD which is where the real workout begun. It was difficult but I kept up mostly with a few breaks and moans from the strenuous exercising. If I was not jumping in the air, I was on the ground doing exercises I had never even heard of. They were cruel, they hurt but sure did they work.

After sweating too much, the next day I was sore. But I kept at it. However, my sister refused to join me and I started to lose the motivation because I did not have support.

Within 3 days, we had totally given up. I was sad because I was loving the results. I felt thinner, happier and closer than I had ever been to my fitness goals. I did not lose weight but I know that the pounds would have started to peel off, had I stuck to the Insanity Workout.

My only issue with Insanity is that it is very difficult. Because of its high intensity, it is very hard for me to maintain unless I have someone with me to help motivate me. I would maybe like to add this to my fitness routine but I will have to find a friend to join me. Until then, I guess I will have to keep looking…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

